Cyber Essentials aims to help organisations implement basic levels of protection against cyber attack, demonstrating to their customers that they take cyber security seriously.

The five basic controls within Cyber Essentials were chosen because, when properly implemented, they will help to protect against unskilled internet-based attackers using commodity capabilities – which are freely available on the internet. The five controls are:

  • Boundary firewalls and internet gateways
  • Secure configuration
  • Access control
  • Malware protection
  • Patch management

In 2018 Wilkin Chapman achieved accreditation from the IASME Accreditation Body for Cyber Essentials Plus in Information Security, and IASME (gold standard) for Information Governance and Assurance.